Catching up with Carla’s Dreams

Carla’s Dreams are a group from Chisinau in Moldova who make some really interesting music (singing in both Romanian and Russian and occasionally English).

I really like their latest single, Te Rog (which is a familiar form of saying “please”; vă rog is the formal form). I like the handclapping and eastern influences (I feel I could do a kind of flamenco belly dance to this).

If you want to sing along, here is a clip with versuri (the lyrics) and you can find translations of all the songs mentioned in this post on this Lyrics Translate web page.

Carla’s Dreams first came to my attention when their duet with Inna (probably Romania’s best known singer) P. O.H.U.I. was a huge hit a couple of years ago. (It’s on my post Join the Inna circle). Rather than replay it, I’ve chosen this clip without Inna, and with the words on show.

Carla’s Dreams have notched up a notable achievement recently. Cum Du Noi (which translates as what/how we feel for each other), their duet with the popular Delia (Delia Matache –  I have written about her often before, just type ‘Delia’ in the search field), was the first song in the Romanian language to get more than 10 million views on YouTube within a month of its release (it’s up to more than 30 million now). It’s a song which annoys me and seduces me at the same time!

 

I’ve made some other exciting musical discoveries recently – stay tuned! Cheers

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

