Brazilian celebrations are in order

Dieticians say we should eat more fruit

Dieticians say we should eat more fruit

Today, September 7, is Independence Day in Brazil. So I thought I should really do something with a Brazilian theme.

I did.

I wore a caipirinha-flavoured condom haha.

It was a little bit uncomfortable at work, and once or twice when I went to the bathroom I almost forgot I was wearing it, which could have been disastrous, but …. oh,, all right, let’s not get carried away with this theme, let’s lift the tone…

The other day this song popped in my Facebook feed courtesy of singer Marisa Monte. It was used as the theme song from a very popular TV show from a decade ago, Mulheres Apaixonadas (Women in Love). I hadn’t heard it for ages and had forgotten how good it was. Marisa recorded it with some friends using the band name Tribalistas. It was a massive hit. So forget the condom, this is my Brazilian celebration.

The complete Tribalistas album (a one-off) is here…

Brazilian fair in Sydney

Incidentally, if you are in Sydney on Sunday, September 20, the annual Brazilian “Ritmo” Festival will be on in Darlling Harbour. It’s presented by the Brazilian Community Council of Australia. It’s usually a lot of fun, with stage shows and Brazilian foods in good supply. Check out the pics and info on the BRACCA website.

Bracca day

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

