Don’t confuse your pic pics with your mic mics

Round about the time of their summer hit Pic Pic, Voltaj were also getting a lot of airplay with another song, Lumea e a mea (The world is mine). Initially I would get confused when searching for them because the “ic” sound is predominant in both, pic pic in the former and mic mic in the latter. I have already covered the song and meaning of pic pic (see Drag out your inner îndrăgostit  here), so I will focus on the mics. Here is the video to Lumea e a mea, which I initially found a bit creepy because of the stalking element, but then it takes a surprising twist, and as usual with Voltaj it is technically well made.

So, what’s the mic mic business all about? It’s in the first line of the chorus:

Sunt mic, mic, mic, dar nu-i nimic, 
Nu e totul pierdut, maine-un inceput, 
Cat de mare ar parea, lumea e a mea.
Sunt mic, mic, mic, dar nu-i nimic, 
Daca in palma mea sta inima ta, 
Lumea e a mea.

Mic means “small”, sunt mic thus “I am small”, and dar nu-i nimic means “but it’s nothing”, that is, nothing important.

The chorus to the song could thus be translated as

I am small, small, small, but it doesn’t matter,
All is not lost, tomorrow there’s a beginning,
How big it would seem, the world is mine.
I am small, small, small, but nothing,
If your heart were in my hands,
The world is mine.

I also found a “symphonic version” on YouTube but have no idea who is playing the classical instruments….

For those who prefer a mix of male and female vocals, there is also a version by Voltaj featuring a singer called Kamelia.

Incidentally, I was looking at the Romanian airplay charts this morning and noted that Belgian singer Stromae, whom I featured in the previous post, has two songs that have come into the bottom half of the Top 100, while an Australian, Faydee, is just outside the top 30 with Can’t Let Go. 

8 thoughts on “Don’t confuse your pic pics with your mic mics

  1. Music is a great way to learn a foreign language, especially if you like it (and I don’t think there are many people on this planet who don’t), so you chose a good way to remember new languages.
    If you allow me, I have a little correction to make in the translation: “dar nu-i nimic” means “but it doesn’t matter”, thus not referring to the person speaking, it’s one of the impersonal verbs that can be very confusing, due to the fact that in Romanian the subject can be left out. If it referred to the person speaking, you’d say: “nu-s nimic (nu sunt nimic)” (“nu-i” is short for “nu e/nu este”).
    I hope you find my explanation useful. And don’t give up!🙂

    • Hi Raveca, thanks so much for the explanation, it was much appreciated. I do find those impersonal verbs a bit baffling sometimes. (if it is short for nu e or nu este why is it nu-i and not nu-e? I wonder) Feel free to correct me any time. I certainly won’t give up, I just wish I had more time to spend on languages. I hope you are well, multumesc, Bernard

      • Cu placere🙂
        You have a very good question there, but I’m afraid I have no idea why it’s “nu-i” instead of “nu-e”… the thing is that “nu e” could not be hyphened, as the hyphen itself has to replace some sounds (it’s the same as the apostrophe in English), but why “nu este” changes into “nu-i”, I’m afraid I I’m not sure.. It might be because (but that’s what I can think of right now, not a professional answer) “nu-e” would be a bit hard to pronounce rapidly, or at least it would sound a little awkward, and “este” is pronounced with a “i” sound before it (that should have been spelled “ieste”), therefore the short form turns into the easier to pronounce “nu-i”.
        But I’ll ask around and if I get a professional answer, I’ll let you know.
        I am well, struggling with Japanese, another huge challenge, especially for a European language speaker.

      • Hello again, and thanks for the info. I agree that nu-i sounds better than nu e. Romanian has a lot of nice sounds, in my opinion.
        You are brave to tackle Japanese. How long have you been doing it? Cheers

      • Well, I’ve been living in Japan for 7 years now, plus I studied Japanese back in Romania for 2 years during college. Reading is a huge challenge (I mean the kanji, not the other 2 alphabets, hiragana and katakana), but the language is completely different from European languages, so that makes it very interesting.

      • I’ve asked a Romanian language teacher about “nu-i” and he told me it is the short form of “nu îi” (the colloquial form of “nu este”).

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

