A year of slogging. Oops, I mean blogging

first candle

First birthday cake (Photo credit: egg on stilts)

It was a year ago that I began this blog, which was set up merely as a dummy for a one-day blogging course that I did. I had no idea where it was going to go or what I would do with it. Still, it has been fun, in a way, although I know now that trying to cover five languages in one go was way too ambitious. Still, My One Romance, or My Two Romances, or even three or four, doesn’t quite sound as impressive as My Five Romances, does it? So five it is.

Looking back, I would have to say that the best thing about the blogging experience was not anything to do with writing anything here, it was discovering like-minded people and their blogs. My WordPress “Reader”, made up of the posts of all the blogs that I follow, has been a great source of entertainment, knowledge and amusement.

My top 20 romances. (Number of views per country. top 20 only.) Source: WordPress

My top 20 romances. (Number of views per country, top 20 only.) Source: WordPress

I owe a great deal of thanks to all those who have visited this blog, particularly those who have offered feedback and encouragement. I realise it is pretty small in the scheme of things – some bloggers get 100+ “likes” per post; I am lucky if I get more than 10 – but really I would never have imagined that I would have got 8800-plus views in my first year. I don’t think there are that many people in the world who particularly want information on five specific languages. It’s a very limited niche. For the record, the top 20 countries as far as my audience is concerned are those pictured right.

As is the case for most bloggers, I should imagine, the first couple of months of writing this blog were pretty lonely: there were just 24 views in November 2012. But the secret is not to expect too much too soon, and to keep plugging away. By January the number of views had risen tenfold, in February it doubled and March it doubled again, and it has been pretty steady since. To get a consistently good readership you need to post at least three times a week. It can be very time-consuming, and I have found my other writing projects have suffered as a result of having a blog. But it can also be very rewarding.

Just out of curiosity, I will jot down here a couple of the more interesting statistics that WordPress automatically provides, so that I have something to compare my progress with come November 2014. Overall, the 8,800-plus views have been logged from 128 countries. But the sobering statistic is that, in 23 of those countries, only one person called up my blog, obviously didn’t like what they saw, fled and never returned again! I call those my one-night stands.

My world coverage map is pasted below. The white bits are the countries that have totally ignored me. (Do you detect a sulking tone creeping in?) Pull up your socks, Central Africa! And not even one bloody cyber spy from China has peeped into my activities! That’s pathetic. The head of the Chinese intelligence agencies should be sacked. One thing is for sure, by this time next year that one annoying white blob in South America, (yes, Paraguay, I am talking about you!) is going to be filled, even if I have to go there and call up my blog myself.

Thanks everyone🙂

The colonisation of the world by the great intrepid linguistic explorer Bernardo.

The colonisation of the world by the great intrepid linguistic explorer Bernardo.

7 thoughts on “A year of slogging. Oops, I mean blogging

  1. I have one (1) hit from China. I’m so proud!!! I’ve followers there, but they are using other ways of getting round the firewall. Oh, and one from Paraguay, too. Am so desperate for a hit from Greenland😉

    Keep it up!

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

