Odes to Antipodean fathers

FathersIt is Father’s Day tomorrow in Australia. Most countries seem to celebrate it in June, but Down Under it’s on the first Sunday of September, which is the month that brings in the spring. According to Wikipedia, this Sunday is also Father’s Day in New Zealand, Fiji and Papua New Guinea. So, fireworks in some parts of the southern hemisphere then! Or perhaps a few beers round the barbecue.

The photo above is from a plaque on the wall which pays homage to fathers, in Portuguese, so I thought I would share it with you.

  • O meu Pai é un amigo – My Father is a friend
  • Que eu nunca esquecerei – Whom I shall never forget
  • Porque amor igual ao dele – For a love equal to his
  • Nunca mais encontrarei – I will never encounter again

That is a literal translation. If I were to make it more poetic in English I suppose I would have to make the fourth line rhyme with the second:

  • My Father is a friend
  • Whom I shall always remember
  • Particularly Down Under
  • On the first Sunday in September.

So, there you go. Happy Father’s Day to fathers everywhere.

Mount Tarvurvur in Papua New Guinea

Oh dear, dad’s burning the sausages on the Father’s Day barbecue again!

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

