How Latin Became Italian

I hope to look at some Italian next, so to get us in the mood I have reblogged the item above from Damyan Lissitchkov’s Blog, which is always very educational in an enjoyable way. I think he has a great sense of humour. (Check out the first paragraph of his item headed ‘Linguistic Diversity’, for example. And do read the other paragraphs too! ) I look forward to his next instalment (hint, hint, Damyan, haha). Cheers

Damyan Lissitchkov's Blog

Today I am going to write about another of my favorite languages – Italian. It is, I dare say, one of the finest modern languages.

hourglass

After the fall of the Roman Empire, Latin evolved (or degraded, as some people might view it) via Vulgar Latin into a multitude of varieties, which later became the Romance languages. I personally don’t agree with the ‘degradation’ view because I think that when the world changes, everything else must change together with it. I like the Latin language as well as ‘her daughters’, but in a different way. Anyway, during this process many things changed in the structure of the language. Here I am going to focus on the changes in the phonology and in the grammar. The latter became less complex, but also more irregular.

Italian is geographically and linguistically the closest successor of Latin. It is a very melodic and neat language…

View original post 2,163 more words

2 thoughts on “How Latin Became Italian

  1. Hi Bernard! Thank you for reblogging my modest post as well as for your kind words. I know that I haven’t written anything for a long time, but lately I was very busy because of my studies and my work. However, that is not an excuse, so something relatively readable should appear soon on my blog.
    Greetings,
    Damyan

    • Hi Damyan, thanks for your comments, I hope you are well. Don’t worry, I figured you were busy doing exams and stuff (let me guess, you are studying about 27 languages at once!) I know what it is like to be busy. Your “modest” post was very popular, take a bow. Soon I am going to read your previous item about the funky Darwinian music – I am sure it will make a good antidote to Eurovision. All the best, Bernard

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

