The Eurovision tension is rising (and apologies to Aliona)

It's Count Dracula! Oh no, sorry, it's not. It is Cezar, representing Romania.

It’s Count Dracula! Oh no, sorry, it’s not. It is Cezar, representing Romania.

Phew! I have just had a look at the results of the second semi-final of the Eurovision contest, and am relieved to see that my sentimental favourite (“And my Eurovision winner is…), Hungary’s ByeAlex singing  Kedvesem (Zoohacker Remix) made it through to the final. It would have been embarrassing if he hadn’t. But my second and third choices, Switzerland and Croatia, were booted out. I wanted the Swiss to go through because they included the oldest participant in the competition yet – a 95-year-old. I am hoping to beat his record in the year 2056 – which will give me 43 years to acquire some form of musical talent. Talent scouts, have your cheque books ready!

The most daring entry – a love it or hate it song, It’s My Life, by Romanian countertenor Cezar – also made it to the final round, so perhaps love is in the air and hate has been banished. I am pleased to see that the Icelandic fisherman made it through to the final, as did the Maltese doctor, and I am really warming to the Belgian entry, Love Kills by Roberto Bellarosa. However, I think either Denmark or Sweden will win. I have decided that this year I am going to be shamelessly cheesy and tacky and buy the 2013 Eurovision CD.

Aliona Moon will be doing her bit for Moldova (and the Romanian language) at Eurovision

Aliona Moon will be doing her bit for Moldova (and the Romanian language) at Eurovision.

I have to take back what I said in that earlier Eurovision post about the entry from Moldova, though. I had said Aliona Moon was singing in English, because the Australian broadcaster of the event, SBS, had posted the English version of the song on its website when previewing the competition (which had puzzled me as the song was titled O Mie  which means a thousand or one thousand). But no, she did sing in Romanian after all, so she goes from a thumbs down to a thumbs up, and I hope she does well.

Here is the official preview version of the song, and I have posted the Romanian lyrics underneath from the Eurovision website. I like the “oare”, “oi” and “ut” sounds in Romanian🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2MAIExkd7I

“O Mie”

O mie de-apusuri pierdute in mare, pierdute in noi
Pe gene o mie de raze de soare-aduceau dimineti pentru doi
O mie de stele arzînd căzătoare priviri ne-au furat
In ceruri o mie de nopți seculare s-au tot spulberat, noi am rezistat

Chorus:
Între soare si ploi
Se nasc mii de culori, dar noi vedem doar nori
Amintiri despre noi
Însirat-am pe foi, apoi le-am distrus amindoi

O mie de lacrimi nu-mi spală durerea de cînd te-am pierdut
De-o mie de nopți ma inghite tacerea, ea vrea sa te uit, imi cere prea mult
Nu cred ca este-n trecut, fiorul ce l-am avut
Vreau un nou inceput!

Bridge:
Credeam în dragostea ta, speram ca nu va seca
Credeam în visele mari, dar ai ales sa dispari
Credeam ca nu e-n trecut, fiorul ce l-am avut
Vreau un nou inceput!

Chorus:
Intre soare si ploi
Se nasc mii de culori, dar noi vedem doar noi
Amintiri despre noi
Insirat-am pe foi, apoi le-am distrus amindoi

And here it is in English (I like the references to the Maya end of the world predictions, talk about being melodramatic!):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9TOg45p2cE

The English lyrics are shown on the above clip from YouTube but I have pasted them here for the record. Note that somehow what was “a thousand” in Romanian has become “a million” in English.

A million sunsets are lost in the ocean, lost in our minds;
Your beautiful smile woke me up in the mornings a million times;
A million hopes were revealed in discretion, at shooting stars;
And we didn’t care that I was from Venus, and you were from Mars

Chorus:
I would give you my love, but it wasn’t enough for us to make it last;
The Maya were not so wrong, it’s the end of the world! It’s done!
cause you are done.

A million tears cannot wash up the sorrow that you made me feel;
A million of memories I try not to follow, but I cannot heal,
My heart is too ill  I thought that we can go on
But you chose to go alone Go away! Now I’m done!

Chorus:
I would give you my love, but it wasn’t enough for us to make it last;
The Maya were not so wrong, it’s the end of the world! It’s done!
cause you are done.

Bridge:
I gave you all that I had
But you broke my heart instead
I built a future for us
But you betrayed all my trust
I thought that we can go on
But you chose to go alone
Go away! Now I’m done!

As mentioned previously, there was no Portuguese entrant this year, but you can hear French, Spanish and Italian in the Final. According to the official website, the 26 acts competing in the grand final of the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in order of appearance are:

  1. France: L’Enfer Et Moi by Amandine Bourgeois
  2. Lithuania: Something by Andrius Pojavis
  3. Moldova: O Mie by Aliona Moon
  4. Finland: Marry Me by Krista Siegfrids
  5. Spain: Contigo Hasta El Final (With You Until The End) by ESDM
  6. Belgium: Love Kills by Roberto Bellarosa
  7. Estonia: Et Uus Saaks Alguse by Birgit
  8. Belarus: Solayoh by Alyona Lanskaya
  9. Malta:Tomorrow by Gianluca
  10. Russia: What If by Dina Garipova
  11. Germany: Glorious by Cascada
  12. Armenia: Lonely Planet by Dorians
  13. The Netherlands: Birds by Anouk
  14. Romania: It’s My Life by Cezar
  15. United Kingdom: Believe In Me by Bonnie Tyler
  16. Sweden: You by Robin Stjernberg
  17. Hungary:: Kedvesem by ByeAlex
  18. Denmark: Only Teardrops by Emmelie de Forest
  19. Iceland: Ég Á Líf by Eyþór Ingi
  20. Azerbaijan: Hold Me by Farid Mammadov
  21. Greece: Alcohol Is Free by Koza Mostra featuring Agathon Iakovidis
  22. Ukraine: Gravity by Zlata Ognevich
  23. Italy: L’Essenziale by Marco Mengoni
  24. Norway: I Feed Your Love by Margaret Berger
  25. Georgia: Waterfall by Nodi Tatishvili and Sophie Gelovani
  26. Ireland: Only Love Survives by Ryan Dolan

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

