Why You Should Learn… Spanish

One of the blogs I follow is The Well-Travelled Postcard. Its author, Virginia, is a lot more talented than me – she speaks “English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, intermediate French and (extremely basic) Russian”. Wow. She has been doing an interesting series on the top 10 most spoken languages in the world. I would encourage you to check it out. Here I am reblogging her item encouraging people to learn Spanish and later I will reblog her post on Portuguese. I am secretly hoping that she will cover the rest of My Five Romances languages, but am not sure that Romanian will sneak into the top ten!

The Well-Travelled Postcard

Bullfighter          Following on from my post last week about learning Mandarin Chinese, here’s the second post in my series on the top 10 most spoken languages in the world.

No. 2: Spanish

420 million native speakers, 500 million total speakers. Official language of 22 countries, spread over Europe and North & South America, and 1 of the 6 official languages of the United Nations.

Why Spanish?

         If you’ve ever been to Spain or Latin America and have gone somewhere even only slightly off the beaten track, then you’ll understand me when I say that English hasn’t really taken off. If you’re planning on going travelling, then at least a smattering of Spanish is essential if you want to get a real insight into the country. What’s more, Latin America has faired far better than the US or Europe during the recession, and it’s another great area like China…

View original post 387 more words

Let's get a conversation started. Write your bit here

